We may earn from vendors via affiliate links or sponsorships. This might affect product placement on our site, but not the content of our reviews. See our Terms of Use for details.
Apple’s first foldable iPhone will have limited availability for walk-in customers on launch day, but shoppers in several markets still face reservation restrictions.
In an Oct. 21 statement to MacRumors, Apple confirmed that its retail stores will have limited iPhone Duo inventory for walk-in customers when the device launches Friday, Oct. 23.
The clarification follows regional notices reported by MacRumors indicating that purchases of the iPhone Duo and iPhone 18 Pro Max at Apple Stores in Japan, South Korea and the United Arab Emirates would be limited to customers with pickup reservations for a limited period.
Apple’s latest statement does not specify how many devices will be available or clarify whether the previously reported regional restrictions have changed.
iPhone Duo delivery estimates stretch into January
The restrictions come as early demand puts pressure on the iPhone Duo’s initial availability. Preorders opened Oct. 16, and delivery estimates for new orders slipped to January 2027 within the first 30 minutes.
Apple described demand as “nothing short of extraordinary” and said it was working to fulfill orders as quickly as possible, although the company has not disclosed sales figures.
Earlier reports suggested that some Apple Store employees had been advised to warn customers against expecting walk-in purchases on launch day. Apple’s Oct. 21 statement now confirms that limited iPhone Duo inventory will be available for walk-in customers, although the company has not specified how that stock will be distributed among stores or markets.
However, Apple has not announced a global restriction, and the reported guidance does not establish that all stores will refuse walk-in purchases.
Reservations could become the real launch-day bottleneck
The restrictions show how a high-profile hardware launch can become an inventory-allocation problem before a product even reaches customers. Apple must manage demand across online orders, store pickups and retail displays, while limiting opportunities for resellers to buy scarce units in bulk.
Requiring reservations gives stores a more predictable way to distribute available stock. But it also makes access dependent on customers securing a purchase slot rather than simply arriving early.
Apple has not confirmed whether supply constraints, anti-scalping efforts or other operational considerations prompted the regional restrictions. While the company has now confirmed limited walk-in availability, it has not detailed how that inventory will be allocated or clarified whether the reservation requirements in certain markets will change.
Must-read Apple coverage
- iOS 27 AI Shortcuts: What Changed and 5 Useful Things to Try
- iPhone Duo Camera Tricks: Smart Take, Kid Cue, Duo Preview, and More
- macOS 27 Cheat Sheet: Compatible Macs, Siri AI, Features and What Changed
- Common Mistakes When Using One Apple Account on Multiple iPhones
- 9 Hidden macOS Features That Feel Like Productivity Hacks
What buyers should do before launch
Customers in Japan, South Korea and the UAE should check their local Apple website for reservation and purchase instructions before traveling to a store. Apple’s broader confirmation of limited walk-in availability does not establish that the restrictions in those markets have been lifted.
Shoppers elsewhere may have an opportunity to purchase the iPhone Duo without a preorder on Oct. 23, but Apple has not specified which stores will have inventory or how many devices will be available. Checking online stock and pickup options before heading out remains the most practical approach.
For customers who missed preorder day, the choice may come down to waiting for a confirmed delivery date or monitoring Apple’s store-pickup availability. Limited walk-in inventory offers another possibility, but arriving early at a store is still no guarantee of leaving with an iPhone Duo.
Customers should also distinguish between delivery estimates and in-store pickup availability. A lengthy shipping estimate for an online order does not necessarily mean every retail location has the same inventory situation. Pickup options may vary by store, configuration, and availability, making Apple’s local ordering page the most useful place to check before making plans.
Buyers should also pay attention to the exact wording of regional purchase restrictions. A reservation requirement does not necessarily mean a device is completely unavailable, while a notice suspending in-person purchases may leave fewer options. Checking whether a store allows reservations, pickup, or only product demonstrations can help customers avoid unnecessary trips.
Other news: Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro offers up to 36 hours of video playback, three hours more than the iPhone 17 Pro and 13 hours more than the iPhone 15 Pro, based on US-market specifications.
